Contents
Technical Details

Local Combine Configuration Folders

The JNetDirect Combine local configuration includes:

  • Windows sizes and docking positions, toolbar settings and layout.
  • Combine configuration options.
  • Environments and Containers settings.
  • Combine Servers list.

The JNetDirect Combine stores its local configuration files in the user local data folder. Different Combine versions may use different formats for these files. For reliability reasons each Combine version stores its configuration files in a separate folder. Below is the table that lists where these files are located for various Combine versions.
Combine version Local Configuration Folder
Combine version 6.2 and below <Local user folder>\AppData\Roaming\SQL Farms\Combine\1.0.0\
Combine version 6.3 and above <Local user folder>\AppData\Roaming\JNetDirect\Combine\6.3\
"<Local user folder>" is usually located in "C:\Users\<username>". Please ask your system administrator for more details if you aren't sure.


If the newer JNetDirect Combine is run and the corresponding local Combine data folder is not found then it will be created and the latest found existing configuration files will be converted to a proper format and placed in the corresponding folder. Existing configuration files for the previous Combine version are left intact. If there are no existing configuration then Combine creates an empty default configuration.

But if the corresponding local Combine data folder already exists then no upgrade conversion occurs.


There are several examples below.

1. An end user makes a fresh install of Combine 6.3. In that case there are no existing configuration files. The JNetDirect Combine just creates "JNetDirect\Combine\6.3\" configuration folder and fills it with an empty default configuration.

2. An end user upgrades Combine 6.0 up to Combine 6.3. In that case the JNetDirect Combine will convert existing configuration files from "SQL Farms\Combine\1.0.0\" folder to the 6.3 version format and stores the converted files in "JNetDirect\Combine\6.3\" folder. Existing configuration files in "SQL Farms\Combine\1.0.0\" will be left intact.

3. An end user upgrades Combine 6.0 up to Combine 6.3 but later he removes Combine 6.3 and re-installs Combine 6.0 back. The JNetDirect Combine 6.3 behavior is the same as in the previous case. I.e. the JNetDirect Combine will convert existing configuration files from "SQL Farms\Combine\1.0.0\" folder to the 6.3 version format and stores the converted files in "JNetDirect\Combine\6.3\" folder. Existing configuration files in "SQL Farms\Combine\1.0.0\" will be left intact.
But what happens when the user downgrades back to Combine 6.0? The JNetDirect Combine 6.0 will read its configuration folder "SQL Farms\Combine\1.0.0\" which contains configuration just before the Combine upgrade.
This feature can be used to do a safe downgrade if for some reasons the older JNetDirect Combine version should be restored. Please note that any changes made in Combine 6.3 configuration will not be available for the previous Combine version.

4. An end user upgrades Combine 6.0 up to Combine 6.3, then downgrades to Combine 6.0, but later installs Combine 6.3 again. Again the JNetDirect Combine 6.3 behavior is the same as in the previous case. The JNetDirect Combine will convert existing configuration files from "SQL Farms\Combine\1.0.0\" folder to the 6.3 version format and stores the converted files in "JNetDirect\Combine\6.3\" folder. After downgrade the JNetDirect Combine 6.0 will work with its configuration stored in "SQL Farms\Combine\1.0.0\" folder.
But when the JNetDirect Combine 6.3 is installed again it will see an already existing configuration in "JNetDirect\Combine\6.3\" folder. So it will not run conversion routine and will use the existing configuration. I.e. it will use the configuration which has existed just before the JNetDirect Combine downgrade. Thus any changes made in the JNetDirect Combine 6.0 configuration after the downgrade will not be converted.
To force the configuration data conversion in such cases the end user have to manually remove existing configuration folder (i.e. "JNetDirect\Combine\6.3\" in this example) and then re-run the JNetDirect Combine.



© 2001-2018 JNetDirect, Inc. All Rights Reserved.